Reviews - Orasay Inn

Orasay inn - Rating 5/5

Remote with great views of the loch, hosts were great and couldnt help enough great staff, lovely food.Room was very comfortful,would defnitly stay again.

Reviewer:Steven H | Sat 21st Jul 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Beautiful location - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a 2 night stay here in mid July. Hosts, Alan and Isabel, were very welcoming. Good Highland hospitality extended to cooking the cockles and mussels we'd picked from local beach and letting us take their dog for a walk on the beautiful land behind the house! A real home from home experience. Also wonderful food with generous helpings. Spacious rooms. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Helen O | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 1 month ago


Happy to be held up by a storm, on isle of south Uist! - Rating 5/5

We were prebooked for one nights stay at the Orsay Inn, on our tour from north to south, at the outer Hebrides, when a storm cancelled all ferrylines around the islands. So the extroadinary kind owners, managed to fixe another nights stay.They were absolute helpfull when we had to rebook new ferry- and flighttickets, when we occupied their telephonelines for hours. And at the top of this;The kitchen held absolute star-class, and is well worth a travel to south Uist, only for that reason. Thanks for your seviceminds and kindness, so we will add a special memory of the Orsay Inn, to our Scotland-tour.Stig and Birgitta from Sweden

Reviewer:Stig M | Tue 19th Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


very frinedly and familiar atmosphere - Rating 5/5

we felt very well, the other guests were very helpful, the room was very calme and proper, the kitchen is extraordinaire! thanks Isobel and Alan!(I cannot cklick the stars)

Reviewer:Norbert H | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 1 month ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Fabulous stay.Owners couldn't have been more welcoming, food was definitely a highlight, from the wonderful, enormous breakfast to the excellent dinners.I had a memorable stay in a comfortable room.Thank you.

Reviewer:Donna Y | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 2 months ago


Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely two night stay at Orasay.The owners are very welcoming and friendly, there is a nice atmosphere in the place. The food is excellent, seafood a speciality, but all good including breakfasts. My husband's seafood platter was amazing. Certainly worth a return visit and weather was great so Uist was at it's best.Katherine &Iain Mackay

Reviewer:Katherine M | Mon 4th Jun 2018 | 2 months ago


Well worth a visit. - Rating 5/5

We were pleasantly surprised to find this hidden gem off the beaten track. Well positioned for a visit to this lovely area. An amazing breakfast including the biggest kippers I've ever seen. Dinner is a la carte with added specials, all lovingly prepared by the owner Isobel. Both Alan and Isobel are welcoming and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay . The rooms are of a very high standard.

Reviewer:Robert D | Thu 31st May 2018 | 2 months ago


Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room,excellent food and very attentive staff.All in beautiful location.

Reviewer:Lawrence H | Sun 27th May 2018 | 2 months ago


The best of Hebridian hospitality - Rating 5/5

Very warmly welcomed for our overnight stay, beautiful location, comfortable accomodation, topped off with fantastic food. Would have loved to have stayed another night but our itinerary did not allow it !Pete &Angie Hampshire

Reviewer:Peter R | Mon 21st May 2018 | 2 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

All the staff were very friendly and we were made very welcome. Comfortable and clean room. Great breakfast.

Reviewer:Ian S | Sat 19th May 2018 | 2 months ago


Glad we discovered the Orasay Inn- Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our overnight stop here. Great value for money.I have restricted diet so not easy for me but ok for husband. More variety of teas would have been appreciated and decaf coffee but food generally good.

Reviewer:MRS J B | Wed 9th May 2018 | 3 months ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We were visiting Uist on business and choose the Orasay in both due to its location and great reviews. We were delighted with our choice. A warm welcome comfy rooms and really excellent food at sensible prices. The seafood is exceptional. I would happily recommend the Orasay inn to anyone visiting Uist.

Reviewer:Robert T | Wed 31st Jan 2018 | 6 months ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Our engineers stayed at this hotel and could not recommend it highly enough.

Reviewer:Ellie D | Wed 8th Nov 2017 | 9 months ago


Fantastic food and service! - Rating 5/5

We stayed here whilst cycling the Hebridean Way on honeymoon. From previous reviews we were looking forward to the food and weren't disappointed! The quality and range of food was superb, all the more remarkable that the owner was both cooking and serving everybody!Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:John R | Thu 2nd Nov 2017 | 9 months ago


A welcome Oasis - Rating 3/5

Perfect location for exploring North and South Uist. Very enjoyable and satisfying menu and cuisine. Our small twin was too small to be comfortable, but then it was described as snmall, so no complaint really.

Reviewer:Nigel and Jenny H | Sat 23rd Sep 2017 | 10 months ago


Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 4 nights in August.Hotel,was very nice and food excellent.Proprietors, Alan and Isobel were very helpful and accommodating.We had a twin room with french windows out on to a private verandah with views down to the sea (Loch Carnan)Whilst hotel is in a quiet area, it is well situated for access to Benbecula and North Uist and the road south towards Eriskay and Barra.

Reviewer:JAMES S | Wed 13th Sep 2017 | 11 months ago


fabulous food and sea views - Rating 5/5

The food here was the best food we had in our 2 week stay in Scotland. The fish was fantastic. Hugh crab claws, mussels and clams. If fresh locally caught seafood is your thing then eat here. The restaurant has a fantastic sea view. The owners were extremely welcoming and hospitable.

Reviewer:margo r | Thu 7th Sep 2017 | 11 months ago


The cycling birder - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable accommodation with outstanding food, if anything, the portions were too big, even after cycling all day!

Reviewer:Derek C | Wed 30th Aug 2017 | 11 months ago


A very good place to explore Uist and beyond - Rating 4/5

Deservedly on the Hebrides Food Trail, the cuisine was really top notch, both dinner and breakfast. Very quiet location with excellent views. We booked late, and the 'small double' was all we could get:it was small! All in all, would be very pleased to stay there again.

Reviewer:James B | Mon 28th Aug 2017 | 11 months ago


Uist holiday - Rating 4/5

excellent food and location

Reviewer:peter n | Thu 24th Aug 2017 | 11 months ago


A pleasant stopover. - Rating 5/5

This was a very pleasant find at short notice.It was off route but with a car easy to find. Also the meal in the evening was delicious.

Reviewer:Janet T | Tue 22nd Aug 2017 | 11 months ago


As - Rating 4/5

Lovely meals. Rooms very clean

Reviewer:Mr. Jim M | Sun 13th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent short stay- Rating 4/5

Lovely secluded location but also ideal for touring around the Uists. Excellent breakfast and evening meals in a dining room with amazing views. Room 3 very well furnished with lovely patio overlooking the water. Recommend highly.

Reviewer:Margot J | Wed 9th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Hebridean Gem - Rating 5/5

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights at Orasay Inn, what a find! Beautiful peaceful location, ideal for exploring Uists and Barra. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a wooden decked area for sitting out and enjoying the spectacular views. The food was outstanding, using locally sourced produce. Run by such a lovely couple who were so friendly and welcoming as were the rest of the team!

Reviewer:LOUISE W | Sat 5th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Location- Rating 5/5

Fantastic place to stay, Very comfortable , great location in South Uist. Great food and lovely Hosts. Highly Recommended.

Reviewer:Derek S | Fri 4th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Thanks! - Rating 5/5

HelloI spent great days at Orasay Inn. Room is small but clean and nice, food is fresh and good. Many thanks again for your great help in organising my trip to Harris Island and for bringing me to the bus station. Everything went without any problem...best Regals, Maya

Reviewer:Maya R | Fri 4th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Great wee Hotel. - Rating 5/5

On first arrival we were a bit unsure as the Inn is fairly remote. Our room was small but very clean and comfortable.A wee bit dated in places but the friendly staff, delicious food and the stunning view from the dining room more than made up for that and we would definitely stay again.Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Jill W | Mon 31st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

Fabulous location, very comfortable rooms. Excellent food all freshly cooked and with an extensive menu. Gluten free options very well catered for.Owners were very pleasant and accomodating.A very enjoyable 4 night stay. Thank you

Reviewer:Kate C | Sun 30th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

This is a brilliant place to stay. The owners Isobel and Alan make you feel at home. The restaurant is popular with local residents for a meal out. Food is superb:I only ate seafood but they offer local beef, lamb and venison too. Peaceful night's sleep guaranteed:no passing traffic, no air traffic, no late night discos. It was a wrench to leave.

Reviewer:Dr. Iain F | Sun 23rd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

Rooms basic but comfortable but the food was fantastic and the best we had during our 10 days stay on the Outer Hebrides

Reviewer:Mr. Adrian I | Tue 27th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice stay thank you - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay and recommend the sea food dinners.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie G | Sun 25th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Hebridean Journey - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Orasay Inn when touring the Western Isles.Accommodation wasclean and comfortable. The outstanding feature of our stay was the food. Excellent breakfasts - huge variety of fresh fruits and generous and varied cooked breakfasts. Evening meals were delicious - again an extensive menu of home cooked meals using local produce.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Orasay Inn to travellers in this area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine M | Thu 22nd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Superb seafood! - Rating 5/5

It's worth travelling a long way to the Orosay Inn just for the seafood. Some of the very best I've ever tasted - they really know how to both source and cook both fish and shellfish. Can't understand why it's not in the Good Food Guide!

Reviewer:Dr. John F | Thu 22nd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Holiday - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation,views at breakfast out to the Cuillins!ideal for all the Isles linked by causeway and ferry connections

Reviewer:Mr. William C | Tue 20th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful Small Hotel - Rating 5/5

I had a great two days at the Orasay Inn. Very welcoming and the food was terrific, but ask for a small portion or you'll never eat it all!

Reviewer:Mrs. Irene C | Fri 2nd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Our stay at the Orasay Inn - Rating 4/5

enjoyed our stay,excellent food.

Reviewer:Mr. Leslie S | Wed 31st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Ideal for purpose - Rating 4/5

My stay at Orasay was ideal...decent welcome, big and clean room, friendly staff and good food. Lovely views from room and dining room and a good breakfast too. I would happily recommend....and my dog was most welcome too!

Reviewer:Mr. David M | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


The place to stay! - Rating 5/5

An extremely friendly and comfortable hotel in an ideal location for exploring North &South Uist. An excellent breakfast with a wide variety of selections on the menu - all tastes catered for.The evening meal menu was equally varied with the quality of the food and service outstanding. If ever we return to the area the Orasay would be our first choice.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher O | Sat 20th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice homely hotel - Rating 4/5

Quiet hotel with comfy rooms. Breakfasts were amazing as was the evening meals. Massive portions all home cooked. Seafood a speciality.

Reviewer:Mr. Ronald J | Sat 20th May 2017 | 1 year ago


a good place to stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable and excellent food.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian M | Thu 18th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay, very comfortable &excellent food

Reviewer:Mrs. Ann H | Thu 18th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Outstanding! - Rating 5/5

Perfect stay, everything arranged to provide brilliant holidays in spectacular landscape. Friendly and welcoming hosts and as a special highlight:First class cuisine!

Reviewer:Mr. Werner R | Tue 16th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

Alan and Isabel welcomed us warmly. We enjoyed all our meals which were imaginatively presented.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda B | Fri 5th May 2017 | 1 year ago


A wonderful place. - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely night in the Orasay Inn. Lovely welcome, comfortable room, and our dinner will live long in the memory - a wonderful meal looking out over the Loch. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Robin G | Fri 28th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Outstanding Hebridean Welcome - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here several times for work and each time the friendly service and excellent food have not disappointed.The flexibility shown by the owners for our early starts and late finishes was a real bonus that made us feel very welcome.We were well looked after and I can thoroughly recommend the Orasay Inn for its hospitality, comfort and friendliness.

Reviewer:Mr. Roger H | Sun 9th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Friendly warm welcome - Rating 5/5

This hotel is like home from home and I was made to feel really welcome by the owners, Isobel and Alan. Whilst the rooms were on the small side especially if you were a couple in the double room but as I had sole occupancy it was fine and the decor is a little dated. However on the plus side there was no need to sit in our room in the evening as there is a cosy lounge to chill in both before and after your evening meal.There is a pretty extensive menu especially considering as all the cooking is done by Isobel and some of the food was outstanding, not fine dining but mostly what sort of fair you would have at home well apart from the sea food platter perhaps. Others have commented that they thought it was expensive but I would say that £11 for haddock and chips wasn't out the way. Thee were more pricy things on the menu depending on you budget. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in hotels around the world with a fabulous selection of fresh fruit as well as pretty much everything you could ask for for a hearty Scottish breakfast.The owners having been there for a good few years obviously know the area and certainly gave me some advice on the local hills as if time allowed and I finished work early wanted to climb being mhor which I did one evening and it's a cracking wee hill.I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever working in the area again and would stay if travelling in south Uist on my own violation.

Reviewer:Mr. ANDYP | Tue 4th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable stay with amazing food.Very friendly and helpful, beautiful views.

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara J | Fri 23rd Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Orasay Inn - fantastic food and wonderful hospitality - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Orasay on our cycling trip along the Hebridean Way. The seafood was fantastic and so was the breakfast. The hotel was lovely and the hospitity excellent. We returned to our bikes well rested and happy the next day, thank you. Would recommend to anyone visiting the Hebrides

Reviewer:Ms. Helen D | Thu 15th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


A Well Run Establishment - Rating 4/5

A good hotel with great attention to detail. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Food very good with lots of choice, even for vegetarians. Portions very large. There is a fantastic view of the loch and mountains from the dining room. A very clean well run establishment

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen D | Mon 12th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Happy holidays - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay, with very good food, but you need a huge appetite.

Reviewer:Mr. James S | Sun 11th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Warm welcome & delicious food in a great spot - Rating 5/5

Loved the Orasay Inn! They were so helpful when we got in late on our bikes &we had a delicious meal there. Lovely views from the dining room too. Great shower, comfy bed, would stay again if ever in this neck of the woods

Reviewer:Ms. Julia F | Tue 6th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


excellent small hotel - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed staying at the Orasay Inn the food was great and Alan and Isobell were great hosts a real home from home.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter M | Wed 17th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Great food and good premises - Rating 4/5

Great food and very nice room.

Reviewer:Mr. Davide S | Sun 14th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Orasay Inn 2/3 August 2016 - Rating 5/5

An exceptionally welcoming and comfortable hotel. The rooms were bright and cosy, whilst the food was outstanding in terms of choice,quality and value.Thanks to Alan and Isobel, we hope to see you again before too long!

Reviewer:Mr. david s | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Very good - Rating 5/5

Very helpful stuff, good breakfast!

Reviewer:Mr. Simon-Matthias B | Tue 2nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


1st visit to Uist - Rating 5/5

Made very welcome by all staff on arrival, rooms were spotless and really comfy beds. Breakfast was great in a lovely room with amazing outlook.Thanks Orasy Inn, 10 out of 10.😁

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart C | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Would recommend- Rating 4/5

A warm Hebridean welcome for my friend and I on our short tour of Barra and the Uists. Lovely meal and comfortable accommodation .

Reviewer:Mrs. Jackie S | Thu 28th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


What a welcome! - Rating 5/5

Alan and Isobel were the perfect hosts. So friendly and so welcoming. Isobel's food is A1 and a 'must' for any guests. Staying on South Uist, then stay at the Orasay Inn.

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Fri 15th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 1/5

Absolutely first class

Reviewer:Mr. Archie B | Sun 10th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic Stay - Rating 5/5

This is one of the best places we have stayed at. The hosts are very wellcoming and nothing is a problem. The food is of the highest quality particularly the seafood. I would highly recommend the Hebridean shellfish soup. At £8 it is great value - full of scallops, mussels, clams etc.A MEAL IN ITSELF.If back in the area will definitely choose to stay here.

Reviewer:Dr. Iain S | Sun 19th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Beyond expectation - Rating 4/5

As this was a busy period I was only able to get a single room -but for 2 nights that was fine and hotel was comfortable . Owners very friendly and food was excellent . Have enjoyed Stornoway black pudding mant times but take the opportunity to try the White pudding . Will come back with family in near future .

Reviewer:Mr. david l | Fri 3rd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Welcome from Alan and Isabel - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed meeting our hosts, Alan and Isabel and were very comfortable in a double bedded room with ensuite facilities.The evening meal was delicious and as for the choice at breakfast time - wonderful, with fresh strawberries and other fruits, yoghurts and all the usual scottish breakfast ingredients.Delicious.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret T | Fri 27th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent Choice - Rating 5/5

We stayed three nights in a room with balcony at the rear of the Inn. The view was lovely. We also ate our evening meal there all three nights. The quality of the food is excellent both for dinner and breakfast. The location is perfect for touring both South and North Uist.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joan H | Fri 27th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic- Rating 4/5

Wonderful food coupled with the best of weather let us see the island at its best.

Reviewer:Mr. William G | Sun 15th May 2016 | 2 years ago


You have to go there - Rating 5/5

Nice People at a beautiful Place with great food. Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Marc N | Sat 7th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Clean, Comfortable, Great Hosts - Rating 5/5

A very peaceful, clean and tidy hotel.Hosts were great and nothing was too much trouble.Good menu with good food and plenty of it !!!Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Jim R | Fri 6th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Mr Shaun P Aldred - Rating 5/5

A big thank to Isobel and Alan for staying up late (10;45 pm) to welcome and cook for us, due the ferry problems.

Reviewer:Mr. Shaun A | Fri 4th Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


Ideal base - Rating 4/5

An excellent base for visiting the Uists if you want good food and a good welcome.

Reviewer:Mr. Donald C | Tue 1st Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


Friendly Place - Rating 5/5

Provided everything we wanted. Room good and food excellent

Reviewer:Mr. Mike D | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Very helpful and friendly staff, rich breakfast, rooms good.

Reviewer:Mrs. Magdalena K | Tue 25th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Warm Island Hospitality - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at Orasay so much. The Inn was comfortable, the food was excellent and the owners and staff were friendly and attentive.

Reviewer:Mr. Harold J | Tue 25th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Great location (also very convenient for exploring South Uist as well as North Uist and Benbecula), friendly and welcoming staff, very comfortable room, good food with excellent fish dishes.Had a very nice stay.Thank you Orosay Inn!

Reviewer:Dr. Marion H | Sun 23rd Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Good guesthouse combined with a restaurant, so you don't need to find a (scarce) restaurant in the area. Very friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. Good, spacious rooms and a great view over the local landscape. We really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:Mr. MichielV | Tue 11th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Welcome overnight stop - Rating 5/5

We stopped here for the one night on a week long tour of the Hebrides. This was one of ourbest stops. Friendly, helpful people who made you feel welcome. Excellent freshly cooked diner and breakfast the following morning.

Reviewer:Ms. Christine M | Thu 6th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


A great place to stay- Rating 5/5

This place is well worth a stay. Fabulous choice of breakfast and a good choice for an evening meal too. A central location at the north end of North Uist so easy to get around the area. Make sure you book soon to meet Josie the highland calf who was born on New Years Day. Nice friendly hosts too.

Reviewer:Miss. Susan B | Sun 7th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

We had 4 nights at the Orasay Inn in early May and had a splendid visit.The welcome was very warm, the accommodation most comfortable and the food splendid.We shall be delighted to visit again.

Reviewer:Mr. William B | Sat 16th May 2015 | 3 years ago


A Gem on South Uist - Rating 5/5

If there is a better place to eat and sleep on South Uist, then it is a very well kept secret. The Inn is comfortable, the welcome warm and the view is superb. Were that not enough, Isobel Graham's "Scottish Natural Cooking"is of the very highest quality.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham T | Sat 9th May 2015 | 3 years ago


osaray inn - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcoming staff and great through out.My room was large,clean and comfortable.Food was excellent.A pleasure to stay at.

Reviewer:Mr. Jason P | Sat 6th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Good stopoff - Rating 4/5

Friendly small Inn with good food. Comfortable lounge and a nice view from the restaurant.Instructions for arrival clear and necessary as a bit off the main road.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen W | Mon 22nd Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Orasay - Rating 3/5

Modest accommodation but food, especially fish, quite outstanding.

Reviewer:Mr. David I | Sat 20th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Great break - Rating 4/5

What a lovely 3 days we had at the Orasay Inn. Good accommodation, friendly staff and fantastic food. Well placed for visiting both North &South Uist.

Reviewer:Mr. David M | Tue 9th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Seafood to die for - Rating 5/5

Excellent food and friendly relaxed people. Great views from the delux room.

Reviewer:Mrs. Edith H | Wed 27th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Delicious food - Rating 4/5

The high spot was the wonderful restaurant serving delicious dinners and breakfasts in scenic surroundings. Otherwise a fairly standard B&B, but clean and comfortable with a warm welcome.

Reviewer:Miss. Heather C | Mon 18th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


14 August 2014 - Rating 3/5

A pleasant stay with solicitous hosts.Room was adequate, very clean with bags of hot water but a little tight on space.Food was disappointing.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean H | Thu 14th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Relaxing - Rating 5/5

A lovely place to stay in the wilds of South Uist with excellent food. good for visiting lots of places.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham S | Mon 11th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Feedback - Rating 4/5

No problems encountered. We enjoyed our stay and the owner was extremely friendly..

Reviewer:Mrs. Elaine G | Wed 6th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Top marks for a wonderful holiday - Rating 5/5

We absolutely loved our stay at The Orasay and found it an excellent base to explore the Islands round and about.Our room was terrific, with a beautiful, peaceful view from the French windows and balcony - perfect for a glass of wine when the sun shone.The highlight of The Orasay has to be the splendid food served in their restaurant. We were so impressed with the standard of the cuisine that we booked every night of our stay and had some excellent fish dishes amongst other things. The breakfasts were of the same high standard, with lots of variety and always a wonderful selection of fresh fruit. The haddock poached in milk was particularly tasty.We would not hesitate to book at The Orasay again if we are ever in that part of Scotland again.

Reviewer:Mr. David A | Wed 6th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Wonderful eating! - Rating 4/5

Unfortunately we spent at Orasay Inn only one night! Seafood fantastic and very good beer! We wish you all the best.

Reviewer:Mr. Alberto F | Sun 20th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Orasay Inn South Uist - Rating 4/5

We stayed as a party of three. The rooms were good, the view wonderful, the food delicious (be prepared for huge portions)but what really made it for us was how friendly and welcoming Isobel and Alan were. The central location makes it perfect for exploring the islands from Eriskay to Berneray. We will be back.

Response

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewer:Miss. Caroline D | Wed 9th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


In the steps of Boswell & Johnson - Rating 4/5

As part of a planned trip my 2 night stay here involved the best coffee on the islands yet..website worked well, breakfast was superb, views from the restaurant stunning. Shower power sublime..in short, highly recommend this place! Helpful staff too, good wifi completes the picture. Centrally placed for the Uists too.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard S | Sun 1st Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


twin room B&B - Rating 3/5

Room clean, good quality breakfast and evening meal.Small hotel in rural area.

Reviewer:Mr. Craig M | Thu 29th May 2014 | 4 years ago


orasay inn fantastic - Rating 5/5

A fantastic location.Sunrise over the Isle of Skye and Red Deer outside window. Room really comfortable and food amazing. The portions were huge!!!!Looking forward to booking next year.

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet M | Fri 2nd May 2014 | 4 years ago


A Little Gem - Rating 5/5

Friendly, clean and stunning scenery. Highly recommended. Looking forward to staying again.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert F | Wed 30th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Good - Rating 4/5

The food was exceptional the home grown beef just melted in your mouth.All you foodies has got to go to this restaurant to try what good food tastes like

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew P | Mon 24th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Relaxing rural retreat offering great food - Rating 5/5

A little off the beaten track but worth it for the peace and the sunset view from our room alone! Friendly owners and very tasty food helped make our stay very pleasurable. Will stay again when next we return to the Outer Hebrides.

Reviewer:Mr. Gordon G | Sun 20th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Great food - Rating 4/5

Spent a most comfortable night at the Orasay Inn.Food was absolutely amazing, plenty of seating in guest lounge, and comfortable bed with TV.Only down side would be that the bedroom was so small that the tiny shower room required a concertina door (room 1).

Reviewer:Miss. Jane I | Mon 30th Sep 2013 | 4 years ago


3 night stay... - Rating 5/5

Lovely room with a stunning view together with delicious food both at breakfast and dinner made my short stay very enjoyable. The owners and staff were friendly &helpful too. I will certainly return.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike P | Wed 18th Sep 2013 | 4 years ago


Restful stay - Rating 4/5

Comfortable stay with excellent meals

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane C | Fri 6th Sep 2013 | 4 years ago


Friendly - Rating 4/5

Our stay at the Orasay Inn was relaxing, amid a friendly atmosphere. Dinner was excellent:the sea trout was great.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul G | Sun 1st Sep 2013 | 4 years ago


just perfect! - Rating 5/5

Lovely breakfast and very nice room. Wifi worked fine, staff was very friendly. We would love to come back one day!

Reviewer:Mr. Gregor S | Mon 15th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


pleasant trip - Rating 5/5

good food and a comfortable stay,lovely location.Did I really get paid for for coming to one of the most beautiful places in the world!!!!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Mark R | Sat 13th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Good - Rating 4/5

Good value hotel with a very good dining room. As the guide books say it the latter that makes this place:very fresh 'catch of the day' food cooked simply but very well. Also, a good range of wines are available.

Reviewer:Dr. Neil G | Tue 2nd Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Overall View - Rating 3/5

The Orasay Inn is in a good location a friendly atmosphere the hosts made you very welcoome and the cooking was very good it would have being a 4star but the bedroom &bathroom/shower could do with an uplift.We would definately go back,

Reviewer:Mr. Robert E | Sun 23rd Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


good place to stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed here on a tour of the hebrides, great location- wonderful views and very tranquil. saw a stag while we were having dinner.Food is good, whisky selection excellent.Rooms are fairly standard and it all works. Very cheerful and helpful staff, thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Chris P | Sun 23rd Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Fantastic breakfasts - Rating 5/5

Spent two nights here and were made to feel very welcome right from the start.Lovely room with big bed and the view from the restaurant/decking was stunning. We had excellent weather which we took full advantage of to tour South Uist - the Orasay is in a perfect location to do both North and South Uist.Food was superb especially the breakfasts - the most enormous full Scottish I have ever seen!

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine S | Sun 16th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


HD - Rating 5/5

Nice quiet friendly hotel.Single rooms quite smallbut fine.Great breakfast including fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice and filter coffee. Evening meals of high standard and a great choicefrom specials through to pricier seafood options. Small enough to feel fine to go to eat as a person travelling alone.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen D | Mon 10th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Stay on 3rd June - Rating 5/5

My wife needed oxygen therapy at the hotel which was delivered by NHS. The owner and his wife were very helpful with this and with assisting my wife to enjoy her stay . Thank you Alan and Isobel. Food excellent

Reviewer:Mr. Graham P | Wed 5th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Perfect stopover - Rating 5/5

This hotel was the perfect place to stay on our south to north trip of the Outer Hebrides. Very welcoming and comfortable. First class food, ales and malts!

Reviewer:Mr. Alastair N | Tue 28th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Robert Jones - Rating 5/5

We had a very relaxing stay. Allan &Isobel were fantasticand we loved the Uists.

Reviewer:Dr. Robert J | Fri 24th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Hotel Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

Suggest there is some soft background music played in the dining room and lounge---otherwise excellent !!

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas K | Wed 3rd Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Winter - Rating 4/5

Very friendly little Hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Rolf R | Tue 12th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


Orosay Inn - Rating 5/5

This was a return visit after 15 years.My friend Marion and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The room was comfortable and the food excellent.Our thanks to Yanis for his attentive care, and to the owners for keeping up the good work.Will definitely return if ever in that area again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne A | Fri 21st Sep 2012 | 5 years ago


Two night stay at Orasay Inn - Rating 4/5

A most enjoyable stay at Orasay Inn. The breakfast was excellent as was the evening meal. The staff were friendly and very helpful and contributed to a very enjoyable stay. The room was 4 star whereas the food was 5 star. I would recommend Orasay Inn to others. Thank you all at Orasay Inn for a most enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Dr. Roderick M | Mon 17th Sep 2012 | 5 years ago


Orasay Inn - Rating 4/5

We arrived rather weatherbeaten and found a warm welcome. Excellent food and comfortable accommodation. Splendid!

Reviewer:Mr. James K | Sun 9th Sep 2012 | 5 years ago


South Uist stay - Rating 4/5

Nice Hotel on the Remote Island of South Uist.Good kitchen in the middle of nowhere

Reviewer:Mr. Christoph S | Fri 17th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent Inn - Rating 5/5

We were in a spacious room with en suite, very clean and comfortable, meals were outstanding and views were stunning from dining room, all staff encountered were friendly and very helpful, will definatley stay again if i'm up that way!

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew H | Sun 29th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Top Marks 5outof 5 - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for four night exploring uists and other Islands. Food was exceptional -breakfast couldn't have been betterd.Fresh raspberries,strawberries,cherries,blueberriesgrapes and pineapple all for starters for breakfast.Four other choices of hot dishes. Evening meals were delicious seafood scallops were superb.Also fillet steak divine to name a few dishes. Room comfortable and service friendly.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan R | Fri 20th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Spring Holiday - Rating 5/5

We had a eight day holiday on South Uist in May 2012 and were delighted with our accommodation at the Orasay Inn.The Superior roomwas a great choice with its French windows to a patio.We greatly enjoyed Isabel's cooking, really good home cooking and always plenty!Home made bread,freshly cooked seafood dishes and old-fashioned proper soups were the speciality of the Inn.The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we were even blessed with lovely weather.

Reviewer:Dr. David M | Sat 16th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Just the Job - Rating 4/5

Our party was treated with great friendliness and looked after very well. The rooms were very comfortable and the views from the East end rooms with the doors opening on to decking were superb.A word of warning. The ferry from Oban to Loch Boisdale is not scheduled every day of the week and may be cancelled by bad weather.Other ferries are available.Travel Insurance should be considered.

Reviewer:Mr. Gib W | Mon 14th May 2012 | 6 years ago


lovely little inn - Rating 4/5

Thank you for your hospitality!After a rather rough trip, it was wonderful to feel so welcomed and well tended-to! The cheesecake was delicious!!! Highly recommended!!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Kirsten W | Thu 8th Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


The Uists - Rating 4/5

Stayed at the Orasay Inn for 4 nights on our first visit to the Uists. Location perfect for exploring all the islands incl.Barra &Vatersay. Good food , very friendly welcome &excellent service. Room comfortable and stylish. We plan to return.

Reviewer:Mr. Kenneth M | Tue 15th Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


review of stay - Rating 5/5

This is an excellent small hotel.It is small and friendly with a great dinner menu and a breakfast that will set you up for the day.The small guest lounge is a great place to wait for dinner in a friendly informal atmosphere.A home away from home kind of place that I would thoroughly recommend for those travelling alone or for work.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen D | Mon 24th Oct 2011 | 6 years ago